Hot Cocoa Cookies

Oh my chocolate! If you are a chocolate lover, and I mean serious chocolate lover, then you will adore these cookies! They are chocolately to the extreme and topped with a fluffy, somewhat melted, marshmallow. These are amazing straight out of the oven and just as good at room temperature the next day. Eat them solo if you dare, but I recommend that you have a glass of milk nearby!

I made these scrumptious treats for a Super Bowl party we attended. I know they don’t scream football or Super Bowl party food, but I just couldn’t get them off my mind and HAD to make them! If I wasn’t on maternity leave at the time, I would have given half of them to my chocolate-obsessed boss. Sadly she didn’t even get a taste so I’m thinking I will have to make them again once I return to work.

132

Hot Cocoa Cookies

1 stick unsalted butter

12 oz. chopped semisweet chocolate (I used the Baker’s bars)

1 1/2 cups flour

1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

1 1/2 tsp. baking powder

1/4 tsp. salt

1 1/4 cups light brown suger

3 eggs, room temperature (important!)

1 1/2 tsp. pure vanilla extract

Melt the unsalted butter and 12 oz. semisweet chocolate together over medium heat in a saucepan. Stir frequently until smooth. Let cool for 15 minutes.In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, cocoa powder, baking powder and salt. In a separate bowl, use an electric mixer to beat together the brown sugar, eggs and vanilla extract. Beat on low speed until smooth, about two minutes. Mix in the cooled chocolate mixture until just blended. Add the flour mixture in 2 batches, mixing on low speed until just combined. Refrigerate the dough for at least 1 hour.

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees. Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper or using a baking mat (I love Silpat – nothing compares!). Using a tablespoon or cookie scoop, scoop the dough and roll between your palms to form one-inch balls. Arrange about 16 balls two inches apart on each cookie sheet, flattening slightly. Bake until the tops of the cookies crack, about 12 minutes.

While the cookies are baking, cut 7.5 ounces of semisweet chocolate (bars) into half-inch squares (or smaller if you prefer). Snip eight marshmallows in half crosswise and stick one square of chocolate onto each of the cut sides.

Immediately after removing the cookies from the oven, gently press a marshmallow half, chocolate side down, into each cookie. Bake until the marshmallows are just softened, about four minutes. Grate 5 ounces of semisweet chocolate over the hot cookies. Using a spatula, transfer the cookies to racks and let cool.

Recipe adapted from Pip and Ebby.

One thought on “Hot Cocoa Cookies

  1. Pingback: Friday Favorites | a little bit of me

Leave a Reply

