Creamy Chia Oatmeal

On mornings that I don’t feel like slicing a banana for Whipped Banana Oatmeal or know that I will need a few extra minutes while breakfast is cooking, I opt for this delicious Creamy Chia Oatmeal. It is seriously one of my favorite ways to start the day and has been my go-to breakfast for the past few weeks. To add a little sweetness, I have swapped out brown sugar for maple syrup and it is equally as good. Give it a try and let me know what you think!

Creamy Chia Oatmeal

Creamy Chia Oatmeal
1 2/3 cup water
Pinch of salt (I like using Kosher salt)
3/4 cup rolled oats (not quick oats)
1 Tbsp. chia seeds
2-3 Tbsp. milk
1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon
2 Tbsp. brown sugar (or other sweetener)

1 Tbsp. peanut butter (optional, but I always include it!)

Combine water, salt, oats and chia seeds over low heat. Cook for six to eight minutes or until oats and chia seeds are puffed up and the oats just begin to bubble. Add in the milk, cinnamon and sweetener. Cook for two to three minutes, until the oats have absorbed the milk and the mixture is creamy. Remove from heat, transfer to a bowl and top with peanut butter.

Original recipe from Espresso and Cream.

Leave a Reply

