Whipped Banana Oatmeal

Days are much longer lately and I need as much fuel as I can get to keep me going for as long as possible! Eating breakfast and then getting hungry again an hour later can be very annoying so I’ve been looking for filling and energy-packed foods to start the day. One of my very favorites has become Whipped Banana Oatmeal. Whipping the bananas helps create a think, creamy consistency. The bananas also act as a natural sweetener so there’s no need to add sugar of any kind. I also like the addition of chia seeds, which puff up and help keep you fuller longer. You can buy them at pretty much any store that has food in bulk bins like Whole Foods or Earth Fare. I think I have seen them packaged at grocery stores like Harris Teeter too.

Whipped Banana Oatmeal

Whipped Banana Oatmeal

1/3 cup old fashioned oats
1/3 cup milk
2/3 cup water
1 banana, thinly sliced
1/2 Tbsp. chia seeds
Pinch of kosher salt
1 tsp. Vanilla extract

Combine the oats, chia seeds, salt, water and milk in a saucepan over medium heat. Slice a banana into thin pieces and add it to the oatmeal. Allow the mixture to heat and once it begins to steam or bubble, stir vigorously to whip the banana into the oats. Stir until the pieces of banana are incorporated into the oatmeal. Cook for about five minutes and remove from heat once it reaches your desired consistency. Incorporate the vanilla and then pour the oatmeal into a bowl. You can add any toppings you’d like – peanut butter, nuts, granola, dried fruit, etc. Anything is good, but a tablespoon of peanut butter is my favorite! Enjoy!

Recipe adapted from Kath Eats.

4 thoughts on “Whipped Banana Oatmeal

  1. Hey Alison! I tried this oatmeal today and, while it was tasty, it still had chunks of banana. I don’t know if the banana should have been more ripe? Cut smaller? Cooked longer (but I didn’t want it to be too dry). Thoughts?

    • Hi Becca! So glad you tried this recipe! I slice my banana in very thin slices and kind of mash it into the oatmeal with a spatula after it has been on the stove for several minutes. I keep stirring and mashing until the chunks are gone. As long as it is on low heat, you can keep it on there for awhile without it burning. It actually seems that the longer it cooks on low heat, the creamier it becomes. I hope you have better luck with it if you try to make it again!

Leave a Reply

