Friday Favorites – Sewing Edition

So for Christmas the ever-so-generous, kind and wise Santa brought me a sewing machine!! Two of my friends have the same one, which they call the twins, so I am so excited to be able to add a triplet to the bunch! Aside from taking a month-long quilting class in college, I know next to nothing about sewing. Thanks to Jessica, one of my roommates in college and fellow quilting class participant, I know a few words like “seam allowance,” but my knowledge is pretty bleak. And I SO can’t wait to play and learn and make beautiful things!!

So I figured it’s only fitting to do a Friday Favorites with all things sewing! Here are some projects I just adore and perhaps aspire to create some day. Clearly, some are more advanced than others, but I WILL learn!

Favorite Must Make Item: Mason Jar Pin Cushion similar to the one by Crazy for Collars. Pin Cushions are essential to sewing and this is just cute and practical! Based on what you want to put in the jar, you could make them as large or as small as you want.

Favorite Useful Project Idea: Money Envelopes like the ones from Saving Money In Style. We use the envelope system, but our envelopes are just plain boring compared to these!

Favorite Little Gift Idea: Heart Book Mark like the one from Happiness is Handmade. That’s just cute!

Favorite Quilt Idea: Puffy Quilts like this one by Honeybear Lane. Maybe they’re meant for babies, but I just want to snuggle up with one of these NOW!

Favorite Accessory: Vintage Style Belts like the ones from ands. Seriously cute.

Favorite Clutch: This one by Grand Revival. I don’t know if it’s the fabric she used or what, but I’m just loving this!

It looks like I have a lot of work ahead of me! But the final result just looks SO worth it. Now, I just need to learn how to turn the sewing machine on! 🙂

Leave a Reply

