A Trip to Orlando

In October I got to go to Orlando for work for four days to help with our Associate Recognition Celebration. 75 people from our company of about 150,00 were invited to attend so the event is a pretty big deal and they go all out to make the winners feel special. I was super excited that I got asked to help! We stayed at the Hard Rock Hotel, which was really nice!

We had lunch at the poolside restaurant while we waited for our rooms to be ready.

While we were eating, we got texts from the front desk that our rooms were ready. That was kind of cool! I had this room all to myself for four days:

There were fun little rock and roll touches all over the place. One night, I returned to my room to this loveliness:

I didn’t even realize the guitar bowl was made out of chocolate until the next day. So fun! Anyway, back to the work part. My main task was airport duty – for 8 hours! There were about 8 of us who stayed at the airport all day long with name signs and balloons to welcome the winners as they arrived. It was a long day, but it was definitely fun to greet everyone!

That night there was an amazing welcome dinner at Fulton’s Crab House. My company does the foodservice there and it was absolutely incredible! The pictures I took aren’t the best, but there were huge crab legs, shrimp, sushi, lobster tail and all kinds of other amazing food.

The next day everyone got to go to a Universal park of their choice. We chose Islands of Adventure since some girls in our group were just dying to go to Harry Potter World. I’ve gotta admit, it was pretty cool!

The cloudy weather made the snow look even more real! We enjoyed some deliciously expensive Butter Beer. I want to get that recipe – at least for the creamy foam stuff on top – yum!!

After a few rides, the sun came out and it was gorgeous!

The big celebration was that night and we rode over to Hard Rock Live on the water taxis from the hotel. I didn’t take many pics, but here are a few from the evening.

The picture above was our dessert – all chocolate! Can you tell that the big white thing with STARS on it is a piano? I was impressed! This was such a fun week! I’d definitely be willing to go on work trips like this more often, even though I was exhausted when I got home. Another great thing about the trip is that I got to meet up with my dad for breakfast on the day I left. He’s about an hour from Orlando so it worked out perfectly!

Leave a Reply

