Weekend in Review: 1/7-1/9/2011

Friday at work flew by because I had so much to do. I love it when Fridays are full because I get to check so many things off my to-do list! And you know how I LOVE making lists! I went to Van’s after work and we decided to go to Concord Mills area for dinner since he found some 50% off coupons for Booksamillion. They were expired, but we decided to give it a go and see if they’d let us use them. We ate at Quaker Steak and Lube and then went to the mall. The manager said she’d let us use the coupons so even though we didn’t NEED any more books, we both bought ones that are on our LIST! Van chose Through Painted Deserts by Donald Miller and I got Made to Crave by Lysa TerKeurst. I’ve heard a lot about this book lately and was excited to see that they had it. And for 50% off? That’s better than I could have even gotten it on sale online – no shipping! We went back to Van’s and pretty much just went to bed since Van had to get up early for work in the morning. That’s the only bad thing about getting snow. Incredibly thankful for his job though.

He had to be at work at 7 on Saturday, but I got to sleep in. When I got up at around 9 his mom said that when his dad went out to breakfast he brought a fruit cup back for me! How sweet! Van absolutely gets that from his dad because he does stuff like that all the time. *I’m blessed!* I headed back to Mooresville at around 10 since Derek was leaving in the afternoon. It started snowing A LOT, but that only lasted for 10 minutes. What a bummer! After Derek left I tried to sell some things to Style Exchange, but with no luck. Bummer. And do you know what Van said? He asked if they told me that they couldn’t buy any of my stuff because it looked too “mom-ish!” I was not selling “mom-ish” clothes for the record! Psh! Van finally got off work at 3 something and then got to my house shortly before 5. We made some lemon squares to take to Travis and Emily’s later in the evening. Travis cooked deer meat and chili and his parents and aunt and uncle were also coming over. We had a delicious feast and I loved chatting and catching up with Emily. 

We usually go to the 9:30 service every other Sunday, but we went to the 11:15 service today with friends since we were all going to Winter Jam at night. We decided to save some money and just eat lunch at my house. We left earlier than everyone so we could get good seats, but everyone ended up getting in before us! We were just standing at the WRONG door. We were able to meet up with Heidi while we were waiting though so that was good! I loved seeing her and hearing alllll about exciting things that are going on in her life. What a treasure of a friend that I found in Germany! The concert was amazing and we even got to meet/see some of the people afterward!

Van and I came back to my house after the concert and I hoped and hoped that it would snow in the morning. Instead of working his normal hours, Van will be going in at 7 pm so he gets to hang out with me for a little while on Monday since my office was also closed! Yahoo!

Leave a Reply

