Weekend in Review: 10/15 – 10/17

Wedding season is now in full swing! I started the day with a dentist appointment and then eventually headed to Concord so that we could start the wedding festivities for Travis and Emily at their rehearsal and rehearsal dinner. They picked a great spot for the dinner (Pike’s Soda Shop) and I’m dying to go back for another round of Honey Pecan Fried Chicken with broccoli casserole and mashed potatoes. Oh. My. Yum. We also had a piece of 3 layer cake and a gooey pumpkin cake thing. It’s a good thing that this isn’t in Mooresville.

I loved being a part of the evening and really enjoyed spending time with the bridal party. Since we were in Charlotte, we drove by my work on our way home so that Van could see where I spend my days. That was kind of a proud moment for me. I have a big girl job at a big company that I LOVE! We watched a little baseball with my dad when we got home and then were off to bed.

Van headed home early Saturday morning and we both spent some time relaxing at our own homes. Jamie picked me up and we began our journey for Krispy Kremes and cupcake delivery. All missions were accomplished with a few minor glitches and then we were off to the church! Emily and Travis’ wedding reflected them so well and I loved seeing how unique each detail was to them. The reception that followed was definitely one of the most fun that I’ve been to. Lots of dancing and laughing and having a good time. It was a great evening spent with some wonderful friends! Congratulations Travis and Emily!

Check out their photographer’s blog for some of the beautiful photos.

We went back to Concord after the reception and again went straight to bed. These busy weekends are definitely wearing us out!

We got up early on Sunday and left for the North Carolina State Fair! Mama Lambert had never been and that’s what she wanted to do for her birthday. We didn’t eat anything too terrible, but I did manage to have a frozen banana on a stick dipped in chocolate and then covered in sprinkles! I think I could make those at home, but what would be the fun in that? We walked around for awhile and checked out a few different things. We couldn’t find any animals, to our dismay. Mama Lambert had the most fun riding the swings and then later riding the tilt-o-whirl with Van. She was so dang cute and we could hear her saying “weee!” several different times.

Can you find Mama Lambert? She’s the one in pink with her legs sticking out!

On our way home we got lunch from Smithfield’s BBQ. I wish we had that in Mooresville. Then again, maybe not. They were so friendly and the food was fab. After all of that driving, Van was ready for a nap when we got home so I headed back to Mooresville. I hung out the rest of the day and just got some “life stuff” done.

Such a busy weekend, but spent with those we love so it was well worth it!

Leave a Reply

