He Proposed!!! And I Said YES!

I cannot believe that this is even reality…that I am writing about being proposed to!! It really couldn’t have been more perfect and I am seriously still in shock that it even  happened!

Here’s how it allll went down: We arrived in Portland on Tuesday evening and met up with my mom who had flown in on Sunday and my dad who had arrived a few minutes before us. My best friend Makenna came with my mom and I was so excited to see her there. The night before she texted me saying that she thought we should go to one of our favorite restaurants, Helvetia Tavern, on Tuesday since her family would be out of town until later that night. Sounded great to me! I was happy to have the plans figured out and didn’t think a thing about it.

We went to Makenna’s house before going to dinner so we could drop off our bags and then we headed out to Helvetia with my parents. The restaurant is pretty much in the country and not far at all from the Roloff farm (Little People Big World). The light was really pretty and so we took some pictures. When we finished we were getting ready to head up to the restaurant when Van asked if we could take another picture sitting on a rock. Of course I jumped at the opportunity since he doesn’t request pictures very often!

So we sat down and took the picture and before I know it he says “Oh and one more thing, Alison Marie Billings, will you marry me?” I of course said “YES!” followed shortly by “Are you for real!?” Makenna was smart and took a lot of pictures and even a video! I will try to post that soon.

To say that I was surprised is an understatement. I have known that Van is the one pretty much since we met. There was no doubt in my mind that I wanted to marry him. He is everything that I have EVER wanted in a man and I am just thrilled!!!

I was absolutely on cloud 9 when we walked into the restaurant. There was a guy standing by the door and I really thought he worked there so I was telling him that we were going to go sit on the bar side of the restaurant since there was more room. When he didn’t respond I was a little offended and thought he was so rude. After we sat down at our table, Van saw him walking to the parking lot with a carry-out box. Oops! I guess he was just another customer!!

As we sat and ate dinner my parents and Makenna revealed all of the planning secrets and all that went on behind my back. They did such a good job! My  mom even brought the ring to Oregon so that he didn’t risk it going off in security. She had it for about a week and didn’t even look at it! She also didn’t tell a single person, which is the real shocker!!

So, so happy! Now we definitely have to return to Helvetia and sit on our special little rock!

I love you Van Lambert and I am so excited to spend the rest of my life loving you!

5 thoughts on “He Proposed!!! And I Said YES!

  1. Pingback: Love is in the Air? « the peony papers

  2. Pingback: Oregon Trip Recap « a little bit of me

  3. Pingback: 2010 in Review…According to my Blog « a little bit of me

  4. Pingback: Love is in the Air? | Jen Darling by J.K.H. Nelson

  5. Pingback: Love and Marriage: In the Beginning… | a little bit of me

Leave a Reply

