Weekend in Review: Drive-in Movie!

This past weekend was so much fun! On Friday night Van played in a softball tournament (that went from 6:30-2:30 AM whoa.) and Anna spent the night at my house. We made paninis with chicken, pesto and cheese…such a delish and easy meal! She then treated us to Starbucks and we watched Duplicity to finish the evening. If you haven’t seen that movie, you should. Cute and a little mysterious…a keeper for sure.

On Saturday afternoon I ventured over to Van’s and after hanging out for awhile we made quite a tasty meal. We made green beans (with a slight variation on this recipe from allrecipes.com). We omitted the ham and added a few other little touches…like baby red potatoes. I never thought I liked green beans before…but these were good! Next time we will go lighter on the butter…but overall they were a great success. We also had an awesome cantaloupe that Van picked out and some marinated chicken breasts.

Then we did something that I’ve been dying to do since Van told me that it exists nearby…we went to a drive-in movie! We went to see Toy Story 3 but for $5 you could watch that movie and then Karate Kid after that. They also had another screen that was showing the new Shrek movie and A Team. We got there at about 7:45 but the movie didn’t start until 9:30. Of course there was lots of great people watching so we were entertained for awhile. I’ve always wanted to see a drive-in movie and I can now say that it was worth the wait. I definitely want to go back!

On Sunday morning we celebrated Father’s Day with Van’s dad and then I drove home to spend time with my family. My dad and I played our fave game Boggle (he won…clearly. It’s Father’s Day!) and then I got started on the Blackberry Cobbler that he suggested (from Pioneer Woman…LOVE her sinfully delightful recipes) and grilled pizza. Both were super yum! The pizza was a little stressful because it was hot and I didn’t know exactly what I was doing. But I will definitely attempt it again.

This lovely weekend ended with serving/church and then more time spent with the fam. Yay!

Leave a Reply

